I have bipolar disorder, but I wouldn’t want to ‘fix’ my mind | Gavin Extence


Having experienced the crippling depression and manic highs of bipolar, my relatively mild mental illness has also given me a reservoir of insight and compassion to draw from

Source: www.theguardian.com

This is wonderfully stated. I’m not certain his bi-polar is quite on the level mine is as it sounds like there were periods of my life that were much more debilitating. I have been dealing with it for over 15 years now and have been off medication for about a decade. I hated when I was on the medication. It didn’t make me normal. It made me numb. It took all of the life out of me. The highs and the lows and what is life without them. Whilst on medication on had no ability to truly feel elation or empathy they way I do without. I will never go back, although I am certain most physicians would push me to take some kind of maintenance med to prevent me from nearly killing myself or ruining my life as severe depression and manic episodes can lead to those endings. I’ve gotten better at managing my mind on my own and keeping it on a leash like a puppy at a busy crosswalk that doesn’t mean I don’t want it to still play on its own.

See on Scoop.itWriters’s Road

Leave a Reply

